

Summary of the Organizational Board Meeting Held Tuesday, September 11, 2012

- A. O Canada: (2:00 p.m.) District O Canada Video
- **B.** Roll Call: All Trustees were present.
- C. Communications from the Board Chair

 This information will be included in the minutes of the September 11, 2012 board meeting.
- **D.** Communications from the Superintendent of Schools

 This information will be included in the minutes of the September 11, 2012 board meeting.

E. Minutes:

- 1. Special Board Meeting June 5, 2012
- 2. Board Meeting #16 June 12, 2012
- 3. Special Board Meeting June 16, 2012

Approved as printed.

F. Comments from the Public and Staff Group Representatives – None.

G. Reports

4. <u>Delegation of Authority- Superintendent of Schools – 2012 Summer Recess</u>

Received for information.

- 5. Confirmation of Committees, Board Representation and Regular Meetings
 - a) Approved recommendation.
 - b) See attached chart for 2012-2013 Committees.

6. <u>Motion re Weekly Board Meetings</u>

The following motion was approved: That beginning in November 2012, the Board hold three public Board meetings per month with Conference Committee meetings held as needed. Our Administration will be tasked with recommending appropriate timing for these meetings and other logistical changes should they be needed.

7. Motion re Workload Assessment Tool for Trustees and the Board

The motion was withdrawn.

8. Motion re Demand Assessment Mechanism for Alternative Programs

The following motion was approved: That the Administration identify a range of mechanisms, including cost estimates for determining demand for alternative programs, community schools and language options among those families who do not yet have children in our programs. Including families with children who are 0-5 and families who have chosen to send their children to schools outside of the District as there is currently no public school with their desired program in their desired location.

9. Motion re Review of Capital and Accommodation Planning

The following motion was approved: That the Policy Review Committee review, as a high priority, the Capital and Accommodation Planning Principles used in the current Ten-Year Facilities Plan and any associated Board policies, and develop a coordinating Board policy to guide the renewal and revision of the Ten-Year Facilities Plan.

10. <u>Policy Review Committee: AGA.BP – Recognition of Staff, Students, Parents and Community</u>

Approved recommendation.

11. Bereavements

Received with regret.

H. Other Committee, Board Representative and Trustee Reports

This information will be included in the minutes of the September 11, 2012 board meeting.

J. Trustee and Board Requests for Information

Trustee Shipka requested the following:

Examine the implications and implementation requirements and process to extend mandatory second language requirements from grades 4 to 9 to grades 1 to 9.

Trustee Janz requested the following:

Provide information on how our financial disclosure practices align with the new disclosure guidelines introduced by the provincial government.

K. Notices of Motion – None.

The meeting adjourned at 4:15 p.m. and reconvened at 4:55 p.m. All Trustees were present.

I. Comments from the Public and Staff Group Representatives – 5:00 p.m.

- The Board heard from the following speakers regarding the "zero" grade practice:
 - Mr. Michael Tachynski
 - Ms Kathy Tachynski (she also provided information to the Board)
 - Ms Linda McKeage
 - Mr. Lynden Dorval
 - Mr. Doug Senuik

L. Next Board Meeting Date: Tuesday, September 25, 2012 at 2:00 p.m.

M. Duration of Meeting: 2:00 p.m. to 4:15 p.m. 4:55 p.m. to 5:20 p.m.



Committees of the Board and Representatives on Committees for 2012-2013

Standing Committees of the Whole	
Board Chair	Sarah Hoffman
Board Vice-Chair	Michael Janz
Conference Committee	Heather MacKenzie
Standing Committees	
Advocacy	Michael Janz
	Heather MacKenzie
	Christopher Spencer
Audit	Sarah Hoffman (as Board Chair)
	Michael Janz
	Ken Shipka
Board and Superintendent of Schools	Sarah Hoffman
Evaluations	Catherine Ripley
	Christopher Spencer
Board Community Relations	Dave Colburn
	Cheryl Johner
	Heather MacKenzie
District Priorities and Governance	Leslie Cleary
	Ken Shipka
	Christopher Spencer
Policy Review	Dave Colburn
	Sarah Hoffman
	Catherine Ripley
Budget Planning and Results Review	All Trustees participate in the annual budget planning
	and results reviews of schools and central decision units
	as determined in the approval of the results review process.
Interpretations	All Trustees serve on interpretations committees on a
•	rotational basis.
Negotiations Custodial Staff	n/a
(negotiations concluded June 26, 2012 –new	11/ U
agreement expires August 31, 2014)	
Maintenance Staff	n/a
(negotiations concluded June 26, 2012 –new	
agreement expires August 31, 2014)	
Support Staff	Catherine Ripley
(contract expired August 31, 2011	Ken Shipka
negotiations currently ongoing)	
Teaching Staff	Leslie Cleary
(contract expires August 31, 2012	Michael Janz
negotiations currently ongoing)	

Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA)	
	D C 11
Provincial Executive	Dave Colburn
	Term runs November 2011 to June 2013
Provincial Executive – Alternate	Sarah Hoffman
	Term runs November 2011 to June 2013
ASBA Zone 23 Executive	Cheryl Johner
ASBA Zone 23 Executive – Alternate	Michael Janz
ASBA Issues and Resolution Committee	¹ Sarah Hoffman
1 Board Chair or Vice-Chair	² Cheryl Johner
2 ASBA Zone 23 Executive representative	³ David Colburn
3 ASBA Provincial Executive Board of	
Directors Representative	
ASBA Tripartite Committee	Sarah Hoffman
Tiparute committee	Salah Homan
Public School Boards' Association of Alberta (PSBAA)	
Liaison – Public School Boards Council	Michael Janz
(PSBC)	
– until membership expires December 31, 2012	
PSBC – Alternate	Ken Shipka
– until membership expires December 31, 2012	T
1 1	
Ad Hoc Committee and Board Representative Assignments	
Capital Region Services to Children Linkages Committee	Leslie Cleary
Committee	
Capital Region Services to Children Linkages	Christopher Spencer
Committee – Alternate	The state of the s
Edmonton Public Schools Foundation Board	Leslie Cleary
of Directors	
School Closure Moratorium Committee	Dave Colburn
(Term expires November 30, 2012)	Sarah Hoffman
	Heather MacKenzie, Chair