

Organizational Board Meeting Tuesday, October 23, 2001

A. <u>O Canada</u> – District video.

B. Call to Order by the Incumbent Chairman: (7:30 p.m.)

- a) All trustees were present.
- b) The chairman noted that Former Trustees Janice Melnychuk and Don Williams were in the audience.

C. <u>Reading of the Declaration of Election Results</u>:

- 1. <u>Declaration of Election Results</u>
 - a) Received for information.
 - b) The following trustees were elected for the ensuing three years:
 - Ward A Bill Bonko Ward B – Bob Dean Ward C – Lynn Odynski Ward D – Ray Martin Ward E – Jean Woodrow Ward F – Don Fleming Ward G – Svend Hansen Ward H – George Nicholson Ward I – Gerry Gibeault

D. <u>Receipt of Oaths of Office</u>

All of the oaths of office were received.

E. <u>Reports</u>:

- 2. <u>Confirmation of Committees, Board Representation and Regular Meetings</u>
 - a) Approved recommendation.
 - b) See attached chart.

F. <u>Comments from the Public and Staff Group Representatives</u>

- 1. Ms Karen Beaton, president Edmonton Public Teachers, congratulated and welcomed the new board of trustees on behalf of the Local. She noted that trustees need to recongize their important role as advocates for public education. We need to remind the provincial government that chronic underfunding in Canada's richest province has lead to the deterioration of public education in three critical areas: class conditions, teacher compensation and teacher recruitment and retention. She introduced Carol Olson and Tracey Arbuthnott, vice presidents of Edmonton Public Teachers. She noted that the Local looks forward to working with trustees to ensure Edmonton Public Schools remains at the head of the class in educating its students. She then had information distributed to trustees.
- 2. Mr. Doug Luellman, president CUPE Local 474, congratulated the newly elected board of trustees on behalf of the district's custodial and maintenance staff. He commended the previous board for involving all of its stakeholders and considered them equal and important and hoped the new board would follow down the same path.

G. <u>Trustee and Board Requests for Information</u>

Trustee Gibeault asked the administration to prepare an information report for the board on different financial disclosure statements that similar bodies to Edmonton Public Schools make in other jurisdictions including specifically the financial disclosure statements for trustees of the Calgary Board of Education and councillors for the City of Edmonton.

H. <u>Notices of Motion</u> – None.

I. <u>Next Board Meeting</u>: Tuesday, November 13, 2001 at 6:00 p.m.

J. **Duration of Meeting:** 6:00 p.m. to 8:10 p.m.



Committees of the Board and Representatives on Committees for 2001-2002

CHAIRMAN OF THE BOARD	- Don Fleming	
VICE-CHAIRMAN OF THE BOARD	- Svend Hansen	
CHAIRMAN OF CONFERENCE COMMITTEE AND AUDIT COMMITTEE - George Nicholson		
Representatives on Other Standing Committees		
Community Relations	Bill Bonko Don Fleming Jean Woodrow	
Evaluation of Superintendent of Schools	Bill Bonko Gerry Gibeault George Nicholson	
District Priorities	Bill Bonko Svend Hansen Lynn Odynski	
Board Evaluation and Results	Bob Dean Ray Martin Jean Woodrow	
Planning and Policy	Bob Dean Svend Hansen Lynn Odynski	
Results Review Committees	All trustees serve on results review subcommittees to review school and central services.	
Budget Review Committees	All trustees serve on budget review subcommittees to review school and central services.	

Ad Hoc Negotiation Assignments		
Teaching Staff	George Nicholson Jean Woodrow	
Custodial Staff	Svend Hansen Ray Martin	
Maintenance Staff	Bill Bonko Bob Dean	
Support Staff	Gerry Gibeault Ray Martin	
Representatives to Other Agencies		
Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA)		
Provincial Executive	Don Fleming	
Provincial Executive – Alternate	Gerry Gibeault	
ASBA Zone 23 Executive	Lynn Odynski	
ASBA Zone 23 Executive – Alternate	Jean Woodrow	
ASBA Issues and Resolution Committee	Don Fleming Svend Hansen Lynn Odynski	
ASBA for Bilingual Education (ASBABE)	Ray Martin	
Public School Boards' Association of Alberta (PSBAA)		
Executive Committee (nominee)	n/a	
Liaison	Svend Hansen	
Other:		
City of Edmonton Names Advisory Committee	Bob Dean	
Linkages Advisory Committee for the Capital Region	Ray Martin	