DATE:	March 13, 2012
то:	Board of Trustees
FROM:	Edgar Schmidt, Superintendent of Schools
SUBJECT:	Edwin Parr Teacher Award
ORIGINATOR:	David Fraser, Executive Director, Corporate Services
RESOURCE STAFF:	Lorraine Goruk, Bonnie Zack

ISSUE

Each year, principals are invited to nominate first year teachers for the Edwin Parr Teacher Award which is sponsored by the Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA). One nominee is selected to represent the District at the zone level.

BACKGROUND

Eight first year teachers were nominated by their principals for the 2012 ASBA Edwin Parr Teacher Award.

A committee of district leadership staff met on Thursday February 16, 2012 to review and assess the nominations relative to the selection criteria established by ASBA. Results from the committee's assessment, as well as points awarded based on scholastic achievement and student teaching evaluations were compiled. Based on the selection criteria, four finalists were selected and invited to a luncheon with the Superintendent and Assistant Superintendents.

CURRENT SITUATION

Each of the following nominee finalists will be introduced:

Nominee	Principal
Georgia Davies	Sandra Dyck-Stoddard, Abbott/R. J. Scott Campus
Jordan Dunn	Kathy Muthlethaler, M. E. LaZerte School
Kelly Hobbs	Jean Stiles, Jasper Place School
Lisa Mol	Dan Beharry, Parkview School

The district nominee for the Zone 2/3 2012 Edwin Parr Teacher Award will be announced by the Superintendent and will be presented with an engraved plaque.

BZ:bjs